Posted by: Bonnie Phelps | November 16, 2013

Friends of Oliver Brown

Oliver Brown Palomar Mountain

From: Nancy Lebrecht, Oliver Brown’s Niece
I’m sorry to send sad news….my dearest uncle Oliver passed yesterday, November 14th, 2013, after a sudden onset of pneumonia.  He was fortunate to have caring friends like you in his life.  A heartfelt thank you to all that kept a watchful eye on Oliver over the years and brought him cheer. We are grateful for your kindness.   We will miss him.
Nancy

Oliver Brown was 95 in September.   The past few months I have been asking around in an attempt to find where Oliver was living. I knew his birthday was coming up. I wanted to visit him and post his new address on the Mountain News inviting folks to send a card.  He moved off the mountain a couple years ago.  He was living in an assisted care home in Escondido.  That had closed and we just were not able to locate where he had moved.  We can rest assured that Oliver had many friends and nice nurses as that was just Oliver’s way of living.

Over the years I have figured out that Oliver’s favorite words were “friends, marvelous, tremendously, fun, and delighted”.  He lived in that tiny green cabin at the top of Crestline and would sit out in front waving as people drove by.  I loved to stop and visit.  He always wanted to know what was going on in my life, what was the latest on the Mountain, and what was coming up so he can pass it on to others.

So here are some tidbits from our last conversation in 2010:

Since I had to start first, I shared that my latest news was that I’d recently attended my 40th High School Class Reunion.  Oliver smiled real big as he told me he had just received a letter from his high school teacher!  At this point I thought, “Ohmygoodness, Oliver is loosing it!”  But, that was not the case!  He went on to say,  “Nancy Tracy is 103 years old and lives in a Board and Care Home in Kansas City.  She marveled that I was still kicking around and causing trouble.  She said in her letter to me that she always knew I’d be successful, even if it was in getting old!”  Oliver went to high school in Springfield, MO and must have graduated about 1934.  So, Oliver’s 80th Class reunion would be coming up pretty soon and just think, I was only at the half way point!  Oliver “enjoyed school tremendously and had marvelous teachers”.

What was Oliver’s secret in growing old?  “Most of it is liking people”, he said.  “Relax and enjoy getting to know people”, Oliver went on to say.  “I worked hard all my life.  I did what was available to do and made the most of it. I’m delighted that I’ve lived this long.  It has been no effort and it’s been fun!”

See also:

Oliver Brown co-chaired the first PMVFD BBQ in 1977  

Oliver Brown 93 Years Old

Oliver Celebrates his 92nd Birthday


Responses

  1. I am sorry to hear of Oliver’s passing. I was just thinking about him the other day as I drove past his cabin. He was a great person.


Leave a Reply

Categories

