Posted by: Bonnie Phelps | August 8, 2014

For all of you Palomar Mountain History Fans

From our Palomar Mountain Historian:

From: Peter Brueggeman

I read with great interest Anthony Swanson’s comments on her grandfather Reid Wallace of whom I am well aware from my Palomar Mountain history interest and research. Reid Wallace developed the Campsites area on Palomar in the 1920s and early 1930s, which was also known as Wallace Campsites, Wallace tract, etc.  Palomar County Park in Crestline was first known as Wallace Park; Reid Wallace gave that land to the County about 1921ish. In San Diego, Reid Wallace sold Christmas trees from Palomar. On and on….

I’m looking forward to meeting her.  I have some questions and gray areas about the Campsites development and she may know.

Did I mention that in May I visited George Doane’s gravesite (actually an area since his grave is unmarked)? I had not determined his death/burial information when I first announced/published my George Doane biography to you and others.

I have been updating my George Doane biography since its first publication in January. For the hardcore Palomar Mountain history fans, there’s a version history in the PREFACE of my George Doane biography which alerts the returning reader to information that’s new since their last visit/viewing. See http://peterbrueggeman.com/palomarhistory/doane.pdf

Thanks, Peter

Peter Brueggeman 4peebee(at)peterbrueggeman.com www.peterbrueggeman.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

