Posted by: Bonnie Phelps | February 14, 2015

Happy Valentine’s Day to All

love on palomar mountain

Saw this little sign the other day in a store.  Made me think of ‘The Treasures’ – our grandkids.  I often say to them “Have I told you today? I love you.  I really, really love you…”

This morning I woke up remembering another little story and thought I’d share it with all of you Mountain News subscribers.  Oh, it is more of a Facebook post… but, for some reason – you mountain folks are on my mind, so decided I should post it here.

About 30 years ago, I heard a speaker talk about love.  He said that most of us have someone in our lives that need to hear from us that we love them.  That was a tough one for me.  But, I knew exactly who that would be.  My dad.

I was so fortunate to grow up in a very happy home, I knew my dad loved us. So kind, so loving.  But I’d never heard him say those three words.

Dad was seven, when his mother died. She gave birth to a brother who was buried in her arms.  His dad was left with three little children to raise, while tending the farm in South Dakota.  I knew dad always missed having a mother.  I often thought how different things would have been for him if he’d grown up with a loving, attentive mother – like she had been those seven short years.

I decided to use our sons as a way to say something I’d never said, or heard, from my dad.  Brandon and Nathan were just little guys and my folks would often babysit.  Dad would always walk us out to the car and help them get in their car seats.  Finally, we were backing out of the driveway one sunny day and I said to the boys, “Say, I love you Popo!”

It was so easy for them – “I love you Popo!” they called out the windows.  Dad just smiled and waved.

I’d find excuses to pop by.  The boys would call out “I love you Popo”.  Some times he would reply, “Be good” or “Have a special day”, or “Sleep tight”.   Finally, we heard “Love you too”, then “I love you Brandon, I love you Nathan”.

A few years later, Dad dropped us off at the airport as we were leaving on a trip. He took my face in his hands and said, “I love you Bonnie”.  Those were his last words.  We came home early for his memorial service.

So, Mountain Friends, on this Valentine’s Day, maybe there is someone out there that needs to hear that you love them…

Happy Valentine’s Weekend

Bonnie


Responses

  1. Oh my gosh, Bonnie! Your wonderful story left me in tears. How beautiful was that, to hear those three words from your dad before if was too late. Thank you for sharing with us.

  2. Love you too-lovely story Jimbo

  3. So sweet. Thanks for sharing. XOXO

    Sent from my iPad

  4. Bonnie, Thank you for sharing your beautiful story! I hope you had a very Happy Valentine’s Day!❤️ Enjoy your weekend! Hugs, Sonja

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  5. Well told. Thanks for sharing that, and you have an excellent point. Say it often to those you love because we don’t know when the last time will be. Rob

  6. Thanks for sharing this. I enjoyed it.

  7. Thank you, Bonnie. Sounds like a special dad… and a special daughter. Happy Valentine’s Day to you and Don.

  8. What a sweet/sad story, Bonnie. But what a gift to hear the words at last. C Palomar Mountain

  9. What an inspiring message from you today, Bonnie. I actually thrilled with chills up my spine when I read the end.


Leave a Reply

Categories

