Posted by: Bonnie Phelps | May 8, 2015

Do you have propane?

a propane

Have a little story for you.  On the phone last week, I was talking about smoke detectors.  I made the comment that I didn’t think we had them in our place on Palomar.  (Imagine that, a Realtor, with no smoke detectors?!??).  We bought our place in 1998 and I just never remembered seeing any.  Fast forward a few days.  Wandering around at the mountain house, I looked up in the top peek above the stairs, sure enough, there was a smoke detector.  Then I found a few more.

However, we did not have any smoke detectors in our bedrooms.  California now requires smoke detectors in living areas and bedrooms, too, since someone might sleep with their door closed. You are also to have carbon monoxide detectors installed in kitchens.

The cowboy that I live with was in the city, so I gave him a call.  He came home with a couple units that I’d never seen before: Smoke detectors with a 10 year battery life!  And, carbon monoxide detectors that also protect against propane or natural gas leaks.  That makes a lot of sense since we are in a pretty active earthquake area and most cabins use propane for cooking, water heaters, and now some wonderful propane fireplaces ’round the mountain, too.

The propane detection is not part of the “rules” for real estate, but seem very important to me.  Just thought I’d pass the info on, as some of you might want to update your units, like we just did.

(Yes, there is still snow. Couple inches max. Now, not much – very wet and slushy.  Roads are totally clear. Very lovely in front of the fire…).


Responses

  1. Thanks Bonnie! Happy Mother’s Day😘

    Sent from my iPhone

    >


Leave a Reply

Categories

